Finding Plays About Women is Too Hard

16 May

… Or not.

This week, I went back to a list I started about two years ago, in which I was trying to compile scripts with large casts (6 or more characters), and in which 5 or more of those roles were for women. I originally began the project because in my other life, I teach at Boston University’s School of Theatre. We guarantee casting for all our majors, and we have more women than men. I was on the hunt for plays other than Top Girls, Fen, Uncommon Women and Others, etc.

Yesterday, I put out a call on twitter and on the LMDA listserv for additions to the list, and now we’re up to 80 scripts (and counting).

Programming is hard, I get that. You can’t read everything, and you can’t really program for political correctness. You have to love the play you decided to invest with time and money.  My hope is that this list will make it a little easier for directors and theatre companies to find scripts they didn’t know they’d love, and to tell stories that feature women.

Check out the list, HERE.

One Response to “Finding Plays About Women is Too Hard”

  1. Cindy January 23, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    Love, Loss and What I Wore By Nora Ephron and Delia Ephron
    Based on the book by Ilene Beckerman
    Originally done with five women but can be expanded. Dramatists Play Service

Leave a Reply

